Opia

add-heading

Driving in the morning bright,
Whizzing past the street lights;
I hummed to myself as I stopped at the traffic lights.

It was then that I saw her.
Something was strange about her.
And the peculiar manner she stared at me.

They held my gaze like magnets,
Breaking my confidence to fragments.
Uneasy and nervous they made me feel.

They held some strange power,
As if she held a wicked desire.
She is innocent but not her eyes.

But little did I knew,
I made her uncomfortable too.
As I too was staring back at her!

Opia (noun): The Ambiguous Intensity Of Eye Contact.

Special thanks to John once again for letting me weave a poem around his words! Check out his YouTube channel, The Dictionary of Obscure Sorrows.

Leave a Reply

